METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON, D.C. SYNOD OF THE ELCA ELECTRONIC SYNOD COUNCIL MEETING

SEPTEMBER 20-21, 2022

The Synod Council conducted a meeting through electronic communications in order to address a motion proposed by Bishop Ortiz to authorize a special appeal or the Building Puentes partnership to make funds available for life-supportive supplies, rebuilding work, and rostered minister support. Secretary Barbara Bilodeau presented the motion in a message to all Synod Council members sent on Tuesday, September 20, 2022, on or about 3:00 PM EDT. The voting was held open until 7:30 PM EDT on Wednesday, September 21, 2022.

The following identifies the members who voted on the motion by means of a responding electronic mail message:

- Voting: Bishop Leila Ortiz Vice President Jennifer Slagle Peck Secretary Barbara Bilodeau Treasurer Julie Hamre Sheena Foster Melody Stachour Pr. Elijah Mwitanti Pr. Eugene Kern Pr. Sarah Scherschligt Donald Wallace Andreas Dangin Pr. Eva Steege Kirsten Nusum
- Not Voting: Pr. Judith VanOsdol Pr. Angela Shannon Anita Smallin Pr. Henry Langknecht
- Vacancies: Maryland Conference lay Potomac Conference lay Youth representative

The motion was made by Bishop Ortiz and seconded by Vice President Slagle Peck.

SC22.09.26 In light of the devastation from Hurricane Fiona for our Caribbean Synod partners in Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands, I move that the Synod Council authorize a special appeal for the Building Puentes partnership of the Metropolitan Washington, D.C. Synod, the Delaware-Maryland Synod, and the Caribbean Synod, to make funds available for life-supportive supplies, rebuilding work, and rostered minister support. The appeal will begin September 22, 2022 and run until October 30, Reformation Sunday, on which day all of our congregations will be invited to receive a special offering for this effort, as well.

Of the 13 members who cast a vote on the motion, there were 12 votes in favor, 1 abstain, and no votes opposed. The motion was voted on by a majority of the members of the Synod Council, and was approved by a majority of those members voting.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara A. Bilodeau Secretary