8G is more than digits

Group 236

Sketch the embodiment of the ELCA at the recent ELCA Churchwide Assembly (CWA), and you’ll see several members of the Metro D.C. Synod (designated “8G” in the region) in the faithful crowd.

Voting Members from our synod take part in the 2016 ELCA Churchwide Assembly

Voting Members from our synod take part in the 2016 ELCA Churchwide Assembly

We give thanks for our Voting Members who advanced business and visioning for our denomination: Bishop Richard Graham, Deborah Haynes, Dave Larrabee, Deacon Kati Miller-Holland, Emily M., the Rev. Leila Ortiz, The Rev. Ray Ranker, Amanda Wahlig and Dr. John White.

Local leaders were elected to positions of churchwide leadership as well. Kevin Anderson, known locally as our synod secretary, was elected to serve on the ELCA Committee on Appeals. Kathryn Baerwald was elected to the ELCA Mission Investment Fund Board of Trustees. And Samuel S., presently serving as Youth Rep on our Synod Council, was elected to bring a young voice to the ELCA Nominating Committee. In advance of the gathering, Larry Evans, office-mate of synod staff through his work with ELCA Federal Chaplaincies, served on the ELCA Reference & Counsel Committee.

On three occasions, members of the Metro D.C. Synod roster preached the sermon during CWA worship services.

Tue. Aug. 9, 2016 – The Rev. Leila Ortiz, Assistant to the Bishop, Metro D.C. Synod

Wed. Aug. 10, 2016 – The Rev. James Phillips, pastor, Our Redeemer Lutheran Church in NE D.C.

Sat. Aug. 13, 2016 – Dr. Gordon Lathrop, Professor Emeritus, Lutheran Theological Seminary in Philadelphia

Review actions of the CWA in “Our ELCA when it met in NOLA,” a blog post from Pr. Lathrop; “ELCA Churchwide Assembly key actions,” from the ELCA News Service; and in pictures and video archived in ELCA media and galleries.

The next time the ELCA Churchwide Assembly convenes, which is the primary decision-making body of the church, will be three years from now. Monitor www.elca.org/ChurchwideAssembly for developments.